Historical background of The Ministry of Gender and Family Promotion

The Ministry in charge of Family and Women Promotion MIFAPROFE was set up from 1992. Since 1994, The Government of Rwanda has demonstrated strong commitment to gender equality and women’s empowerment. This commitment has been reflected among other things in the setting up of the necessary institutional machinery to manage gender programs in the country. The nature and focus of the Ministry responsible for gender, family and children has evolved over time to reflect the existing challenges and priorities in the Rwandan Society. Ministry in charge of Family and Women Promotion (MIFAPROFE) to address the enormous challenges created by the consequences of the 1994 genocide against Tutsi. In 1997 The Ministry was assigned an additional portfolio of managing social affairs to become Ministry of Gender, Family and Social Affairs (MIGEFASO) with a special focus on rehabilitation and emerging post conflict issues. In 1999, the Ministry of Gender and Women Promotion (MIGEPROFE); was set up to focus on gender equality and women’s empowerment with a special focus on mainstreaming gender in different institutions, particularly Government ministries. In 2005, the Ministry of Gender and Family Promotion was placed under the Prime Minister’s Office with the mission on gender equality, family promotion and child protection. Since 2013 the Ministry of Gender and Family Promotion was granted autonomy.

Ministers who led MIGEPROF since 1992 (Listed from the latest)

Prof BAYISENGE Jeannette: February 2020-until now

Ambassador Soline NYIRAHABIMANA: October, 2018-February 2020

Honorable Nyirasafari Espérance: October, 2016-October,2018

Honorable Dr. Diane Gashumba: March, 2016-September, 2016

Honorable Gasinzigwa Oda: 2013-March 2016

Honorable Inyumba Aloysia: 2011-2012

Honorable Mujawamariya Jeanne d’Arc:2008-2011

Honorable Nyirahabineza Valerie: 2003-2008

Honorable Mukantabana Marie: 2002-2003

Honorable Muganza Angelina: 1999-2002

Honorable Inyumba Aloysia: 1994-1999

Honorable Nyiramasuhuko Pauline: 1992-1994